Log in
Sign up
Open SidebarMENU
Log in
Sign up
This show closed on February 22, 2020

About National Philharmonic: Black Pioneers in Classical Music

Piotr Gajewski conducts the National Philharmonic in this tribute to Black Composers in Classical Music featuring compositions by Wynton Marsalis, Florence Price, George Walker and William Grant Still. Joining the National Philharmonic is Melissa White, violinist, Sphinx Competition winner and founding member of the Harlem Quartet.

Melissa White, violin

Piotr Gajewski, conductor


Wynton Marsalis - "Wild Strumming of Fiddle" (from "All Rise")

Florence Price - Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major

George Walker - "Lyric for Strings"

William Grant Still - Symphony No. 1 ("Afro-American")

Pre-concert lecture will take place beginning at 6:45pm.

Start Date

End Date


Recommended for ages 7 and up.

[Melissa White is] bringing a new attitude to classical music, one that is fresh, bracing and intelligent.
The Cincinnati Enquirer

The Music Center at Strathmore

5301 Tuckerman Ln, North Bethesda, MD 20852

National Philharmonic: Black Pioneers in Classical Music tickets on TodayTix

Tickets are not currently available. Set an alert and we’ll tell you when more tickets go on sale.