Close Sidebar
This show closed on December 10, 2019

About CSO: Higdon & Tchaikovsky 4

Taking inspiration from Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony, Tchaikovsky’s Fourth explores fate, progressing from dark despair to defiant triumph. John Storgårds leads this powerfully expressive work, along with the first CSO performance of the deeply moving "blue cathedral" by Jennifer Higdon, winner of the 2018 Nemmers Prize in Music Composition. The dazzling Ray Chen, making his CSO subscription series debut, brings his “liquid tone that carries with it emotional depth of great intimacy” (The Huffington Post) to the youthful bravura of Wieniawski’s First Violin Concerto.


Chicago Symphony Orchestra

John Storgårds - conductor

Ray Chen - violin


Higdon - blue cathedral

Wieniawski - Violin Concerto No. 1

Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4

Start Date

End Date

Chicago Symphony Center

220 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60604

CSO: Higdon & Tchaikovsky 4 tickets on TodayTix

Tickets are not currently available. Set an alert and we’ll tell you when more tickets go on sale.